Thank you bat Ogier sur le fil !

Thank you bat Ogier sur le fil !

While he thought he had victory in his pocket, Sébastien Ogier suffered a puncture in the Power Stage of the Sardinia rally and ultimately lost by two tenths to Ott Tänak! Championship leader Thierry Neuville, who went off the road on Saturday, took advantage of the new points count to make a good move in the standings.

Incredible outcome at the Sardinia rally! Sébastien Ogier, who was 17 seconds ahead of Ott Tänak on Sunday morning before the last four specials, finally let victory slip away in this rally! After losing four then seven seconds on the Estonian in the morning while avoiding taking unnecessary risks on the Sardinian roads where dust and stones disturbed many drivers, the Gapençais suffered a puncture in the Power Stage and finally had to lose by two tenths to the Estonian, who wasn’t asking for that much.

“The rally ended yesterday, we are only going to play for the points,” said the Hyundai driver at the start of the day. But a rally is never finished before the Power Stage, and he therefore won his 20th WRC victory, the first this year, at the age of 36. Very disappointed and regretting on arrival that this rally had become “a rally-raid”, Sébastien Ogier had to be content with a podium, his third in a row after his successes in Croatia and Portugal. Not bad for a 40-year-old driver who only participates part-time in the WRC season…

Neuville perfectly limits damage

Despite Ott Tänak’s victory, the championship leader remains Thierry Neuville, with an 18-point lead. However, the Belgian driver was off to a bad start when he had to retire on Saturday after going off the road, but the new points scale allows him to obtain twelve points in total (seven by finishing with the best time on Sunday, five by winning the Power Stage), the Belgian driver perfectly limited the damage, by pocketing these twelve Sunday points.

Next meeting: in Poland at the end of the month, where Sébastien Ogier should be there again, before taking a break. And there is no doubt that the French pilot will be very revengeful after his Sardinian misadventure!

Final classification (after 16 special stages) – Sunday June 2, 2024
1- Ott Tänak – Martin Järveoja (EST-EST/Hyundai) en 3h06’05
Sébastien Ogier – Vincent Landais (FRA-FRA/Toyota) at 0″2
3- Dani Sordo – Candido Carrera (ESP-ESP/Hyundai) at 2’25
4- Elfyn Evans – Scott Martin (GBR-GBR/Toyota) à 2’37
5- Grégoire Munster – Louis Louka (LUX-BEL/Ford M-Sport) at 6’42

Special stage winners
Ogier : 6 (ES1, ES3, ES6, ES9, ES10, ES11)
Tank : 4 (ES2, ES5, ES8, ES15)
Neuville: 5 (SS4, SS7, SS13, SS14, SS16)
Evans : 1 (ES12)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *