Stroll remains loyal to Aston Martin

Stroll remains loyal to Aston Martin

Canadian driver Lance Stroll has extended his contract for several seasons with the Aston Martin team, where he will remain Fernando Alonso’s teammate.

It’s contract extension day this Thursday in Formula 1! A few dozen minutes after Pierre Gasly signed a new lease with Alpine, Lance Stroll did the same with Aston Martin. The British team announced that the 25-year-old Canadian had signed a new lease “for several seasons”, trusting him in particular for the 2026 season, which will mark the entry into force of new technical regulations in Formula 1 (single-seaters). lighter, narrower tires, more electrical power and less thermal, etc.).

Lance Stroll arrived in 2019 at the team, which was then called Racing Point, before being bought by Lawrence Stroll, the driver’s father, who renamed it Aston Martin in 2021. The Canadian will still team up with Fernando Alonso, who extended his contract until the end of 2026 in April.

Current Stroll 11th in the championship

“I am very pleased to have committed to stay with the team until 2025 and beyond. It’s incredible to see how far we’ve come over the last five years; we have grown so much as a team and there is still a lot to look forward to,” responded Lance Stroll, who has finished in the world Top 10 only once since his F1 debut.

“Lance has played a key role in building this team. His technical feedback, along with his hard work in the simulator, contributed to the continued development of the car each season. The consistency and stability of Lance and Fernando within our team provides an excellent platform to continue to realize our ambitions. We look forward to creating more incredible memories and achieving new successes together,” said team boss Mike Krack. Ahead of this weekend’s Austrian Grand Prix, Lance Stroll sits eleventh in the championship, with 17 points, 24 less than his teammate Fernando Alonso.

The F1 2025 grid
Alpine : Gasly and another pilot
Aston Martin : Alonso et Stroll
Ferrari : Leclerc and Hamilton
Haas : Two drivers to be announced
Sauber : Hülkenberg and another pilot
McLaren : Norris and Piastre
Mercedes : Tsunoda and another pilot
Racing Bulls : Perez and Verstappen
Williams : Albon and another pilot

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *