Rallye d'Europe centrale: Rovanperä conserve son Titre

Rallye d’Europe centrale: Rovanperä conserve son Titre

This Sunday, if Thirrey Neuville (Hyundai) won the Central European Rally, Kalle Rovanperä (Toyota) finished behind him and is therefore crowned world champion for the second time.

And two for Kalle Rovanperä! Indeed, youngest world champion in WRC history in 2022, the young Finn (23 years old) did it again this year. In great form since the start of the season, the Toyota driver validated his second title this Sunday by finishing in second place in the Central European Rally. If it was Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) who won this weekend, Rovanperä will easily be content with his place as runner-up behind the Belgian, who had already been victorious in June in Sardinia (Italy).

For his part, winner in Portugal, Estonia and Greece, the Finn therefore put an end to the weak suspense this weekend, while there is only one rally left on the program this season (in Japan). The Welshman Elfyn Evans (Toyota) is now too far away to catch up.

Rovanperä in a very exclusive club

At 23, the now double world rally champion will therefore enter a little further into the history of his discipline. Indeed, only nine drivers have been world champions at least twice. His domination could well continue for a few more years as he seems untouchable or almost untouchable compared to the others.

At least that’s what emerges from his year where he was rarely out of the top 4 (one retirement and seven podiums). Note that Frenchman Sébastien Ogier (Toyota) finished 4th in this Central European rally.

Final classification after 18 special stages – Sunday October 29, 2023
1- Thierry Neuville – Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL-BEL/Hyundai) a 2h52’39″9
2- Kalle Rovanperä – Jonne Halttunen (FIN-FIN/Toyota) à 57″6
3- Ott Tänak – Martin Järveoja (EST-EST/Ford M-Sport) à 1’52″8
4- Sébastien Ogier – Vincent Landais (FRA-FRA/Toyota) at 2’08″6
5- Takamoto Katsuta – Aaron Johnston (JAP-IRL/Toyota) at 2’4

Special stage winners
Rovanperä : 5 (ES3, ES4, ES5, ES7, ES14)
Neuville: 4 (SS2, SS8, SS10, SS11)
Evans : 4 (ES6, ES9, ES16, ES18)
Ogier: 4 (SS12, SS13, SS15, SS17)
Thanks : 1 (ES1)

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *