Rally Sweden: Lappi wins, Fourmaux third

Rally Sweden: Lappi wins, Fourmaux third

This Sunday, Finnish Esapekka Lappi (Hyundai) won the WRC rally in Sweden, ahead of Briton Elfyn Evans (Toyota). Frenchman Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport/Ford) finished third.

Esapekka Lappi had the last word. This Sunday, the Finn, resident of the South Korean Hyundai team, won the WRC rally in Sweden, second of the 13 rounds of the specialty world championship, after the 18 special stages planned. This rally took place on the snow of Umea in the north of the country.

This year, Lappi will not participate in the entire program for this 2024 season. The Finn (33 years old) took advantage of the problems encountered by several of the favorites to succeed in winning. This is his second victory in this premier category, after the 2017 edition of the WRC rally of Finland. At the finish, the driver was ahead of Briton Elfyn Evans, who therefore finished second at the wheel of his Toyota.

Rovanperä consoles itself with the Power Stage

As for the podium, it is completed by the very surprising Frenchman Adrien Fourmaux (Ford M-Sport). The fourth is the Belgian Thierry Neuville, who has taken the lead in the general classification of the world championship since the end of last January and his victory during the Monte-Carlo rally, the inaugural round of this season.

The Finn Kalle Rovanperä (Toyota), double reigning world champion and who has decided, in 2024, to do fewer races, took part in his first event of the season. On arrival, the driver was forced to retire, after having gone off the road this Friday. If he got off to a good start on Saturday, the Finn won this Sunday’s Power Stage.

Ranking at the end of SS18 (out of 18) – Sunday February 18, 2024
1- Esapekka Lappi – Janne Ferm (FIN-FIN/Hyundai) en 2h33’04”9
2- Elfyn Evans – Scott Martin (GBR-GBR/Toyota) à 29”6
3- Adrien Fourmaux – Alexandre Coria (FRA-FRA/Ford M-Sport) at 47”9
4- Thierry Neuville – Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL-BEL/Hyundai) à 1’46”3
5- Oliver Solberg – Elliott Edmondson (SUE-GBR/Skoda Rally2) à 5’04”2

Special stage winners
Rovanperä : 5 (ES1, ES2, ES10, ES16, ES18)
Lapland : 4 (ES3, ES6, ES7, ES8)
Katsuta: 1 (ES4)
Linnamäe : 1 (ES5)
Thanks : 1 (ES9)
Fourmaux : 1 (ES11)
Evans : 2 (ES12, ES17)
Neuville: 3 (SS13, SS14, SS15)

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *