Poland: Tanak premier leader

Poland: Tanak premier leader

Disputed in the form of duels, the first special stage of the Rally of Poland saw Ott Tänak set the best time ahead of Thierry Neuville and Elfyn Evans.

Ott Tänak opens well on weekends. While he remains on a snatched victory in the last special during the Sardinia rally, the Hyundai team driver started the Polish round of the world championship by setting the best time in the first special. On a 2.5km course in the Mikolajki Arena, the Estonian was most comfortable.

Indeed, the 2019 world champion finished one second ahead of Thierry Neuville, who will have the disadvantage of leading the way this Friday on the Polish dirt roads. I had fun on this special. I like these roads but it’s not easy at all, said Ott Tänak after this first special. Everything has to be done perfectly. You have to have maximum confidence in everything around you so we’ll see tomorrow (Friday) what the sensations will be.

Rovanperä responds

Conceding only three tenths of a second to Thierry Neuville,
Elfyn Evans is already playing in a good position, but he will be less in trouble with the sweep of the special stages this Friday.. On the French side, Adrien Fourmaux set the sixth time, just under two seconds off the benchmark. The Ford M-Sport driver is two tenths ahead of the surprise guest of this Rally of Poland, Kalle Rovanperä. Coming in at short notice to replace Sébastien Ogier, who was the victim of an accident during the reconnaissance, the Finn is on the right pace.

« I don’t think going for victory is possible, but that’s how it is, said the reigning world champion. You come here to have a good result at the finish but it’s not satisfying if you’re not looking for victory. The night will be very long so it doesn’t look easy. » Seven stages will be on the program for the first real day of competition, which promises to create some gaps.

General classification after SS1 (out of 19) – Thursday June 27, 2024
1- Ott Tänak – Martin Järveoja (EST-EST/Hyundai) en 1’42”5
2- Thierry Neuville – Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL-BEL/Hyundai) at 1”0
3- Elfyn Evans – Scott Martin (GBR-GBR/Toyota) à
4- Takamoto Katsuta – Aaron Johnston (JAP-IRL/Toyota) à 1”6
5- Andreas Mikkelsen – Torstein Eriksen (NOR-NOR/Hyundai) à 1”8
6- Adrien Fourmaux – Alexandre Coria (FRA-FRA/Ford M-Sport) at 1”9

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *