Ogier ideally starts in Sardinia

Ogier ideally starts in Sardinia

This Friday, at the end of the first four special stages, Frenchman Sébastien Ogier (Toyota) took the lead in the general classification of the Sardinia WRC rally.

Sébastien Ogier definitely can’t stop. This Friday, at the end of the first day of racing consisting of the first four special stages contested on dirt roads, the Frenchman, eight-time world champion, took the lead in the general classification of the Sardinia WRC rally in Italy , sixth round of the specialty world championship.

The Habs, at the wheel of his Toyota, only have a little more than four seconds ahead of his first pursuer, namely the Estonian Ott Tänak, resident of the Hyundai team. In third place, we find the Spaniard Daniel Sordo (Hyundai), who is ahead of the Japanese Takamoto Katsuta (Toyota) and the Belgian Thierry Neuville (Hyundai), provisional fifth and current leader of the world championship in the discipline. This season, Ogier is only competing in a few rounds of the WRC World Rally Championship.

Fourmaux had a bad day

This Friday was much more difficult for another Frenchman. Indeed, Adrien Fourmaux (M-Sport/Ford) suffered a puncture during the third special. The Tricolore was then forced to stop on the side of the road during SS4 apparently due to mechanical problems. Before that, Fourmaux occupied sixth place in the general classification.

This Saturday, the Sardinia WRC rally continues. The drivers will have to compete in no less than eight new special stages. On Sunday, this race will end with four final stages. Sébastien Ogier is on perfect momentum, after winning the last two rallies contested this season, in Croatia then in Portugal.

General classification at the end of SS4 (out of 16) – Friday May 31, 2024
1- Sébastien Ogier – Vincent Landais (FRA-FRA/Toyota) in 53’43”1
2- Ott Tänak – Martin Järveoja (EST-EST/Hyundai) à 4”5
3- Daniel Sordo – Candido Carrera (ESP-ESP/Hyundai) at 33”2
4- Takamoto Katsuta – Aaron Johnston (JAP-IRL/Toyota) at 34”5
5- Thierry Neuville – Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL-BEL/Hyundai) à 36”6

Special stage winners
Ogier : 2 (ES1, ES3)
Thanks : 1 (ES2)
Neuville : 1 (ES4)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *