Evans stays in the lead, Ogier comes back

Evans stays in the lead, Ogier comes back

Elfyn Evans is still in the lead of the Monte-Carlo rally, where he managed to avoid the pitfalls of icy conditions on Friday morning. But the Welshman is only eleven seconds ahead of Sébastien Ogier, winner of two special stages.

Elfyn Evans keeps the lead in the Monte-Carlo Rally! Leader on Thursday evening after the first two specials, the Welshman is still there on Friday at midday. The Toyota driver was able to avoid the ice trap at the start of the day, unlike Ott Tänak, who lost 40 seconds in SS3 by going into the ditch. The Estonian was fortunately able to restart, but he is now more than a minute behind Evans. Takamoto Katsuta (Toyota) made the same mistake as Tänak at the moment, but he lost five minutes. If it was Thierry Neuville who won SS3, Elfyn Evans managed to maintain the lead of the rally, ten seconds ahead of the Belgian.

Ogier goes back up but is not satisfied

It was then Sébastien Ogier who dominated the other two stages of the morning. More disturbed by the dirt on the road than by the ice in SS3, the Gapençais won SS4 with one second ahead of Evans and SS5 with eleven over the Welshman. He now finds himself eleven seconds behind his teammate, despite some problems. “I struggled until then. I’m having a difficult week but I’m doing my best,” conceded the nine-time winner of the event. Thierry Neuville, who spun in SS4, is 24 seconds behind the leader, while a second Frenchman is in the Top 5, Adrien Fourmaux, starter this season at M-Sport, who is 1′ behind. 04. Three specials will be on the program during the afternoon, before the six on Saturday and the three on Sunday.

Ranking after 5 specials (out of 17) – Friday January 26, 2024
1- Elfyn Evans – Scott Martin (GBR/Toyota) en 55’52″7
2- Sébastien Ogier – Vincent Landais (FRA/Toyota) at 10″7
3- Thierry Neuville – Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL/Hyundai) at 24″5
4- Ott Tänak – Martin Järveoja (EST/Hyundai) à 1’01
5- Adrien Fourmaux – Alexandre Coria (FRA/M-Sport) at 1’04

Special winners:
Evans : 2 (ES1, ES2)
Neuville: 1 (SS3)
Ogier : 2 : (ES4, ES5)

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *