Chinese GP: Verstappen dominates the sprint

Chinese GP: Verstappen dominates the sprint

This Saturday, during the Chinese Grand Prix, Max Verstappen won the sprint race after starting in 4th position on the grid. The Red Bull driver is ahead of Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and his teammate Sergio Pérez.

In 2024, Max Verstappen is gradually returning to his good old habits. Indeed, after winning three of the first four races of the season (in Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and Japan), the Dutchman this time signed a new victory during the sprint race of the Chinese Grand Prix. This Saturday, although starting in 4th position on the starting grid, the three-time Formula 1 world champion did not have to exert his talent to win in Shanghai.

At the finish, the driver of the Red Bull team beat Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and his teammate Sergio Pérez and is now eight victories in this exercise in 13 sprint races contested (since 2021). Author of a good start, unlike poleman Lando Norris, Verstappen needed seven laps to regain a place of his standing, passing Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin), who was 2nd until then.

The Ferraris livened up the end of the race

Shortly after, on the 9th lap, the Dutchman’s RB20 confirmed its impressive domination by leaving no chance to Hamilton, who was ultimately more than 13 seconds behind at the finish. Behind, it was the Mexican Pérez who completed the podium in this sprint race, while the Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz Jr followed, after a bitter fight between the two Scuderia cars. Which then angered the Monegasque (“It was beyond the limit,” he said about his teammate’s defense).

In the mix this Saturday, Alonso suffered a puncture and was therefore forced to retire shortly before the end. On the French side, the Alpine of Esteban Ocon and Pierre Gasly took 13th and 15th places respectively. Now, it’s time for qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix from 9 a.m. this Saturday morning.

Final classification – 19 laps (103.6 km) – Saturday April 20, 2024
1- Max Verstappen (PBS/Red Bull Racing) en 32’04’’660
2- Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) at 13”043
3- Sergio Pérez (MEX/Red Bull Racing) at 15”258
4- Charles Leclerc (MCO/Ferrari) at 17”486
5- Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/Ferrari) at 20”696
6- Lando Norris (GBR/McLaren) at 22”088
7- Oscar Piastri (AUS/McLaren) at 24”713
8- George Russell (GBR/Mercedes) at 25”696
9- Guanyu Zhou (CHN/Kick Sauber) at 31”951
10- Kevin Magnussen (DAN/Haas) at 37”398

13- Esteban Ocon (FRA/Alpine) at 39”841
15- Pierre Gasly (FRA/Alpine) at 40”838

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *