Cadillac in charge

Cadillac in charge

This Sunday, four hours before the finish of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Cadillac was in the lead, on the track, at the start of the afternoon.

Four hours from the finish, the suspense still remained, for this 2024 edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the 92nd in history. Indeed, Ferrari, Toyota, Porsche and even Cadillac were still in the race to win, on the legendary Le Mans circuit of Sarthe. Barring any major surprises, it will be one of these four manufacturers that will triumph.

Shortly after 12:00 p.m. this Sunday, it was the No. 2 Cadillac (Earl Bamber – Alex Lynn – Alex Palou) which occupied the lead in the general classification. Behind her, no less than nine Hypercars were chasing her, on the same lap. In contact with this No. 2 Cadillac, we found, less than five seconds apart, the two Toyotas, with the No. 8 (Sébastien Buemi – Brendon Hartley – Ryo Hirakawa) and the No. 7 (Jose Maria Lopez – Kamui Kobayashi – Nyck de Vries).

The two official Ferraris in the top 5

To complete the top 5, we found the two official Ferraris, including the No. 51 (Alessandro Pier Guidi – James Calado – Antonio Giovinazzi) which won last year, followed by the No. 50 (Antonio Fuoco – Miguel Molina – Nicklas Nielsen). For its part, the No. 6 Porsche (Kévin Estre – André Lotterer – Laurens Vanthoor) occupied sixth place.

The last Ferrari, the No. 83, appears to have suffered a mechanical problem during a pit stop made around 12:00 p.m. Smoke was coming out of the vehicle, which remained stuck in the garage. The crew was not sure they would be able to leave. At the time of this incident, this Ferrari, driven by former Formula 1 driver Robert Kubica and his teammates, was in the top 5.

Ranking at 12:00 p.m. (after 20 hours of racing)
1- Cadillac V-Series.R n°2 (Earl Bamber – Alex Lynn – Alex
Palou (NZL-GBR-ESP))

2- Toyota GR010 n°8 (Sébastien Buemi – Brendon Hartley – Ryo Hirakawa (SUI-NZL-JPN))
3- Toyota GR010 n°7 (Jose Maria Lopez – Kamui Kobayashi – Nyck de Vries (ARG-JPN-NED))
4- Ferrari 499P n°51 (Alessandro Pier Guidi – James Calado – Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA-GBR-ITA))
5- Ferrari 499P n°50 (Antonio Fuoco – Miguel Molina – Nicklas Nielsen (ITA-ESP-DEN))
6- Porsche 963 n°6 (Kévin Estre – André Lotterer – Laurens Vanthoor (FRA-GER-BEL))

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *