At Le Mans, Alonso is king

At Le Mans, Alonso is king

Fernando Alonso was once again crowned on the 24-hour circuit of Le Mans this weekend. The Toyota driver, well helped by his teammates Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima, won the Sarthe race for the second consecutive year.

Without much surprise, Toyota once again won during the 87th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Like the previous year, it was the No. 8 TS050-Hybrid, driven by the Spaniard Fernando Alonso, the Swiss Sébastien Buemi and the Japanese Kazuki Nakajima, which took the lead over the other contenders for the final victory. An unexpected success due to a puncture, in the last hour, of the other Toyota, n°7 (Conway-Kobayashi-Lopez, at 0’16”), which nevertheless dominated the debates since the start of the race.

But as Sébastien Bourdais said in the columns of South Westshortly before the launch of this 2019 edition, “ Le Mans always chooses its winner“. This is indeed what happened this weekend. A sign of destiny which allowed the double Formula 1 world champion (2005 and 2006) to achieve a double blow and to validate, at the same time, the title of world endurance champion during this final of the “super season “. A distinction which should give confidence to the ex-McLaren driver, who now aims to participate… in the 2020 Dakar.

However, Alonso is not stopping himself from returning to Sarthe. “ This is not my last lap at Le Mans (…) I will come back in the future, maybe with a Hypercar or something else,” said the native of Oviedo, according to comments relayed by Provence. That’s all we wish for him…

Top 10 of the race (LM P1 H):

1- Toyota Gazoo Racing n°8 (BUEMI/NAKAJIMA/ALONSO) en 24 h 00’10 »574 »’

2- Toyota Gazoo Racing n°7 (CONWAY/KOBAYASHI/LOPEZ) à 16 »972 »’

3- SMP Racing n°11 (PETROV/ALESHIN/VANDOORNE) at 6 laps

4- Rebellion Racing n°1 (JANI/LOTTERER/SENNA) at 9 laps

5- Rebellion Racin n°3 (LAURENT/BERTHON/MENEZES) at 15 laps

6- Signatech Alpine Matmut n°36 (LAPIERRE/NEGRÃO/THIRIET) at 17 laps

7- Jackie Chan DC Racing n°38 (TUNG/RICHELMI/AUBRY) at 18 laps

8- TDS Racing n°28 (PERRODO/VAXIVIERE/DUVAL) at 9 laps

9- United Autosports n°22 (HANSON/ALBUQUERQUE/DI RESTA) at 20 laps

10- Idec Sport n°48 (LAFARGUE/CHATIN/ROJAS) at 21 laps

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *