A round in Paraguay in 2025?

A round in Paraguay in 2025?

According to information from Autosport, Paraguay is a candidate to host a WRC rally in 2025. The world rally body wants to hold two rallies in South America next year.

This season, the World Rally Championship will stop in Chile at the end of September for the only South American round on the program. But next year, another South American country could well appear on the calendar: Paraguay. The country of 406,000 km2 and 7.4 million inhabitants is in fact a candidate to host a round of the world rally championship, according to information fromAutosport.

The WRC would like to include two South American events in its 2025 calendar. The contract with Chile, which expires at the end of 2024, could be renewed, and Paraguay is favorite to accompany it, ahead of Argentina. This week, WRC events director Simon Larkin met Paraguayan President Santiago Pena, proof that the file is progressing well.

The Canaries, Ireland, Saudi Arabia…

“We have been in long-standing discussions with Argentina, but without a contract in place we must explore all possible options. Paraguay has a thriving national championship and I believe there are about 30 Rally2 cars there and you can see the number of Paraguayan drivers competing in the WRC with drivers like Diego Dominguez and others, it’s a relevant market for the rally. Rallying is a very popular sport in Paraguay and, of course, the president is interested in organizing a high-level event in this country. We had the opportunity to present our project to him,” Larkin toldAutosport.

Remember that in 2017, the capital of Paraguay, Asuncion, hosted the big start of the Dakar (photo). The 2025 season promises to see some changes, since a contract has already been signed with the Canary Islands to host the Spanish rally, another is about to be signed with Ireland, and the holding of an event in Saudi Arabia should be announced soon, for what would be the return of the WRC to the Middle East, following the end of the Jordan rally after the 2011 edition won by Sébastien Ogier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *